Book Review- Convenience Store Woman by Sayaka Murata

DETAILS

Author: Sayaka Murata

Publisher: Portobello Books

Translation Details: translated from Japanese by Ginny Tapley Takemori

Publication Date: 2018

Genre: Contemporary Japanese Fiction

Page Count: 163

Convenience Store Woman is my second novella/ short read of 2019 but my first foray into contemporary Japanese fiction. After finishing this I really can’t wait to read more!

The book follows Keiko Furukura, a part time Convenience Store worker in her mid-thirties who is completely content with her life. However, nobody else can see that. Keiko always struggled to fit in and she has a completely unconventional attitude towards life. I found gaining an insight into her mind really refreshing. Keiko enjoys the structure and the rules imposed upon her by her job; in her work she finds a sense of belonging and purpose for the first time. Yet, her family and friends simply cannot understand why anyone would want to remain in what they perceive to be a ‘dead end job’. When Keiko meets a man with an equally unique outlook she decides to take action.

This book didn’t go in the direction I thought it was going to go in and for that I am so grateful! Although not very plot heavy, for a short novel it really brought to light some burning social issues and provides an interesting commentary on gender expectations in Japan. In a society that places a great deal of expectation upon women to get married and have children or have a high flying careers, Keiko obviously goes against the norm. Although Keiko has no problem with her situation she unfortunately is not immune from the criticism of others. Nearly everyone in her life absolutely cannot understand her satisfaction in life when she doesn’t have any of the things that society values so highly.

It says on the back that it is “laugh out loud funny” and there were some amusing scenes but I think the humour is more subtle than thatI think this book would be perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant is completely fine and fans of the ‘Up-Lit’ genre in general. It’s a very quick read and a great palate cleanser/ break from a current read.

 

Advertisements

7 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s